About IGCSE Programme

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a two year programme affiliated to the University of Cambridge – UK offered to students in the age group 14-16. It is a balanced international curriculum offered by the Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) which is suitable for students of all nationalities and all levels of ability. It provides an ideal preparation for higher level courses such as GCE, ‘A’ level, SAT, ACT and IB.

IGCSE is offered by schools across the globe. It is recognized as equivalent to the British ‘O’ level and as a qualification by Universities. The examination is typically taken at the end of two years, in Grade 10.

IGCSE provides a broad study programme by drawing subjects from 5 areas:
• Languages
• Humanities and Social Sciences
• Sciences
• Mathematics
• Creative, Technical and Vocational

IGCSE Subject Options 2019-2020

A student who takes examinations in a minimum of 7 subjects qualifies for the IGCSE certificate. The ICE Certification (International Certificate of Education) is awarded by the CIE for the recommended combination of subjects in the IGCSE examinations.

ICE is a group award of the IGCSE that requires the study of subjects drawn from 5 different IGCSE subject groups. A student must take at least 7 subjects, including 2 languages and 1 subject from each of the other subject groups given below.


Subjects offered under each group at IIS are:

Group 1: Languages:
First Language – English
Second Language – English as a Second Language,(for non-speaking English students) Hindi, French

Group 2: Humanities and Social Sciences:
Economics, Geography, English Literature

Group 3: Sciences:
Physics, Chemistry, Biology

Group 4: Mathematics (Extended or Core)

Group 5: Creative, Technical and Vocational:
Art & Design, Business Studies, Information and Communication Technology, Physical Education, Visual Arts

The IGCE result is declared in 3 levels:
• Distinction – Grade A or above in 5 subjects and Grade C or above in 2 subjects
• Merit – Grade C or above in 5 subjects and Grade F or above in 2 subjects
• Pass – Grade G or above in all 7 subjects.

We recommend that our students take 9 subjects to enhance their chances of achieving the best results.

To know more, visit www.cie.org.uk